Oxhey Village Environment Group (OVEG) History Sheet 39
Kind Hearts and Coronets – that’s Capell Road. It is one of the shortest and one of the oldest roads in Watford. It bears the names of the Earls of Essex and until 1882 was part of Bushey. Step back even 50 years, Capell Road was partly gravel, horses clattered over the cobbles, gaslight from the shop interiors illuminated the street.
To read more about this interesting road by clicking on the link below.